What are the privacy options for groups on Workplace?

There are three privacy options for groups: Open, Closed and Secret. The table below shows who can join these groups and what people can see about them.
OpenClosedSecret
Who can join?Anyone from your company can join or be added or invited by a memberAnyone from your company can ask to join or be added or invited by a memberAnyone, but they have to be added or invited by a member
Who can see the group's name?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see who's in the group?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyOnly current members
Who can see the group description?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see the group tags?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see what members post in the group?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Who can find the group in search?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see group events?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Who can see stories about the group on Workplace (like in News Feed and search)?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Note: If you're using Workplace Advanced, community admins have access to all content on Workplace, including secret groups.
Learn more on how to manage your group on Workplace.
Was this information helpful?