What are video download settings and how do I use them on Workplace?

Your video download settings help protect copyrighted and confidential videos uploaded onto Workplace. This feature uses encryption to protect videos so that only people logged into Workplace on a supported browser can view them in full quality. Those who are using unsupported browsers will be served the video at a lower quality level.
Supported browsers and apps:
  • Firefox
  • Chrome
  • Safari
  • Workplace mobile app
  • Microsoft Edge (Chromium)
  • Opera
Unsupported browsers:
  • Internet Explorer
Turn on video download settings feature
To turn on video rights management for your Workplace:
  1. From your News Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click More, then select Video Downloads.
  4. Click the toggle next to Video downloads.
  5. Click Save Changes.
Adjusting video download settings
Once you have enabled video download settings, you can start to make adjustments:
  1. From your News Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click Settings in the top right.
  4. Click the toggle next to Restrict Video downloads.
  5. Click Save.
From here, you can prevent your Workplace videos from being downloaded. When the Video downloads setting is turned off, people will not be able to download old or new videos to their devices from Workplace. When it is turned on, both old and new videos will be available for download.
Keep in mind that this setting only encrypts videos while it is turned on. It will not encrypt videos that were posted before it was turned on. When you turn this feature off after using it, all videos that were encrypted will stay encrypted.
Allow some audiences to download videos
Admins can give some users the ability to download encrypted videos, even when the rest of the Workplace cannot. Under Allow downloads, select Nobody, Admins, or People Sets.
Was this information helpful?